TTT: Top Ten Tuesday-Anime Series I Personally Enjoy While Others Think They Are Complete Garbage

Originally this post was going to be about the top 10 anime I dislike (because I don’t really HATE any specific anime), but then I realized I don’t have that many to choose from. So that idea kind of went out the window. I thought I would revise this post to the anime that I personally enjoy but many others seem to dislike/hate/or they think they are trash. Yay for positive affirmation!

Everyone has different taste in anime/manga. If we all liked the same shit then the anime community would be a very boring place. The same could be said of the world that we live in. It reminds me of that episode of Fairly Oddparents were Timmy gets turned into a grey blob like everyone else and everything is EXACTLY the same. Lemme see…this one right here:

the same game

Oh my childhood! How I miss you. If you want to watch something fun go check out Butch Hartmen’s (the creator of Fairly Oddparents) new video were he draws anime characters in the Fairly Oddparent’s style. Just watch below or search it in YouTube!


Let’s get on with out bad selves! We can’t sit here and reminisce all day. I mean…we could but I’m an adult and I have to go to work later today. I have bills to pay! #sendhalp or better yet #sendmoney. Tehehe. 😛


1. Glasslip

Glasslip

Glasslip only gets a 5.5 out of 10 on My Anime List but I personally love this anime. I like the fact that this story has no real destination or sustenance. I know these type of anime tend to bother people, but for me I can’t get enough of them! I love movies and anime that don’t really make any sense. I think they make for good personal interpretation. Like you can decide how you want the story to go or to end. Plus the animation for this series is beautifully done!


2. Sword Art Online

Asuna SAO

Oh Sword Art Online…the cancer of the anime community. This anime gets shit on (I think) the hardest behind Naruto and One Piece. This is probably due to it being main stream and people having a problem with Kirito. And yet another anime I personally enjoy! More so for the story line rather than the characters themselves. I think the concept of this anime is well done and people should give it SOME credit. It is not as bad as some of the other anime I have watched in the past.


3. Nagi no Asukara (A Lull in the Sea)

With its gorgeous scenery, animation, and unique story premise, Nagi no Asukara is easily my favorite anime of all time (I’m still waiting for Violet Evergarden to come out!). Many people find this anime boring or without substance as well, but for me personally, I think it is EVERYTHING. I mean, it’s a coming of age story….what more do you want from it?! You can’t win them all people! I highly highly recommend this anime to anyone who wants a refreshing anime concept and wants stunning visuals to look at.


4. Koutetsujou no Kabaneri (Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress)

Mumei ribbon

With the hype surrounding Attack on Titan, many people were hoping for another anime like it…insert Koutetsujou no Kabaneri (Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress), which is in fact done by the same studio as Attack on Titan. I think the visuals for this anime far exceed that of Attack on Titan. The story might have fell flat in the end but it makes up for it in scenes, music, and animation style. I personally like this anime a bit better than AOT.


5. Natsuyuki Rendezvous

Natsuyuki

If you want an anime that will break your heart into a million little pieces then Natsuyuki Rendezvous is the one for you. A lot of people didn’t like this anime because it is a slow burner. One that isn’t quite fast paced or thrilling. It still gets a 7.4 out of 10 on My Anime List, which isn’t too terrible. I feel like this anime is a necessity to watch if you have ever lost a loved one. It helps with people who are grieving from loss and don’t know how to deal with their emotions. ❤


6. Tokyo Ghoul

I know that the anime for Tokyo Ghoul is a bit empty for people who have read the manga. As a person who watches anime more than I read manga, I personally enjoyed the series. Probably because I do my research when I have a ton of questions going on in my head. I’m also the type of person that likes to spoil things, so I’ll go find out what happens next. Season 2 doesn’t even happen in the light novels but it was cool to see a different perspective on the original manga. The same could be said of Ao no Exorcist after episode 17! I’m glad they made another series to clarify all the made up bullshit. Maybe another season of Tokyo Ghoul might do the same.


7. Akuma no Riddle (Riddle Story of Devil)

Akuma no Riddle

Akuma no Riddle (Riddle Story of Devil) gets a pretty low rating on My Anime List. Only a 6.8 out of 10. But I feel like this anime deserves more credit! It has some great fighting scenes and lady characters! I also really like the dark underlying theme it has. I think a lot of people didn’t like it because it was a bit predictable? I haven’t seen many responses on it, just a few comments here and there.


8. Mirai Nikki (The Future Diary)

Evil yuno

A lot of people only like Mirai Nikki (The Future Diary) because of Yuno and her “yandere” tendencies. Which I think is kinda lame because it has a good story concept. I think anyone would want to know the future if they could. The only thing that really bugs me about this anime is of course, Yuki. He is just so drivel in the beginning but finally gets his act together in the end. I just HATE how he takes no intiative and relies on Yuno for pretty much all the decisions. Get it together Yuki! The one redeeming quality is Akise. He is my bae :3


9. Tasogare Otome x Amnesia (Dusk Maiden of Amnesia)

I’m a sucker for anything dark, mysterious, or ghost-like, so it is no wonder I like Tasogare Otome x Amnesia (Dusk Maiden of Amnesia). This anime actually gets a decent rating on My Anime List. A solid 7.9 out of 10, which isn’t too shabby. I haven’t seen too many comments about people not liking this anime but I think people were expecting it to be MORE…more than what the story gave us, which is understandable. I honestly wish it was a bit more scary (but nothing really scares me these days). I love anything horror/gore!


10. Blood C

Saya Blood C art

Blood C is actually one of my top 10 anime of all time. That might come as a shock to you all (maybe not since I just said I love horror and gore). This is another anime that gets a pretty low rating. It gets a 6.7 out of 10 on My Anime List, which isn’t news to me. I knew it didn’t get high ratings because everyone seems to like Blood + a bit more, but not by much! I just really really like Saya’s character, especially in Blood C: The Last Dark. She is just a total BAD ASS! I’m really tempted to cosplay as her in the near future. Maybe someday! I’ll make it happen 😉


Do you enjoy any of the shows I listed above? Do you think any of them deserve more credit then they actually get? Let me know in the comments section below! I enjoy hearing all your thoughts and comments.


Disclaimer: All imagery and photos come from searching for them on the internet. I have no claim or right to them.

12 thoughts on “TTT: Top Ten Tuesday-Anime Series I Personally Enjoy While Others Think They Are Complete Garbage

  1. Nagi No Asukara IS NOT BORING!!! This anime made me want to live in that fictional town close to the sea. I mean I been crazy about mermaids since I was kid.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved Tokyo Ghoul, but √A… It was still compelling, but my reaction was more “I’m really confused and just want to make sense of it” than “I love these characters and am invested in the plot.” It made me want to read the manga because the ending was just not satisfying. While I get that Kaneki’s personality changed, it makes zero sense for him to have such a communication breakdown with the people he cares about. That was clearly done for suspense and not from character motivation.

    When I watched Mirai Nikki, I got a little bored with the plot just because it felt a bit too formulaic (who is getting eliminated this time?) and time travel has been beat to death. (I blame Supernatural.) It was the characters that kept me watching.

    I cannot divorce SAO from the abridged parody, which I saw before the actual anime… and I prefer the abridged. Sad but true.

    I only got into anime fairly recently (it was my hubby’s doing), so I haven’t seen the rest on your list. So much to watch!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The second season of Tokyo Ghoul is all made up. I think that is why many people were upset and confused by it. It is always easier just to read the manga! I really liked the second season! I thought it had some KILLER fight scenes.

      Mirai Nikki is pretty predictable and very cliche, but I love all the gore we get! Plus Yuno is a effing psycho and I love that about her. Hence…the whole everyone being in love with the “yandere” aspect. While that is a huge part of why I love it, that isn’t the only reason.

      I have seen a ton of people talk about SAO abridged! I’m glad I didn’t watch it before hand though.

      Welcome to the anime community! You definitely won’t run out of material to watch. 🙂

      Like

  3. Oh my gosh, you’ve definitely picked some good ones for this topic! I also love, Future Diary, Kabaneri, and Sword Art Online, but of course, Nagi Asu is easily one of my favorites as well! I think the fact that it’s a slower paced show allows you to connect with not only the characters, but the gorgeous and entrancing setting. It’s a world I’d love to visit, even if everyone else would rather go to someplace else that’s “less boring.” Love this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Nagi no Asukara is my baby and I don’t care what anyone else thinks lol I can see why Nagi Asu may not be for everyone though. It is good critical thinking to see other people’s opinions. Not everyone can like the same things (haha I talked about that in the post too!). I am glad this post is inspiring others to do there own ❤

      Like

  4. Blood C is a huge departure for the series. I dont think it’s because of Blood Plus, but more because of Blood the Last Vampire, the original movie that started it all. It was gritty, heavy and action packed and Blood C took a very different approach. Blood Plus humanized Saya, but Blood C changed her altogether. I do like the show though.

    And I don’t understand the hate for SAO. Yeah, it’s not special but nothing to get worked over. It’s not really all that bad as well.
    But lol, Glasslip. Yeah, I find it hard to like that one. XD But again, it’s a subjective thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

